In this article, I will explain the Different Modules in Spring Framework.

The Spring Framework is built for enterprise applications in Java and supports both programming as well as configuration. In general, Spring is a modular framework that consists of several individual modules, each of which provides a specific set of features and functionality. The following list shows some of the main modules in this framework.

  1. Core container. This module is the foundation of the Spring Framework and provides fundamental features such as Dependency Injection and Inversion of Control (IoC).
  2. AOP module. The Aspect-Oriented Programming (AOP) module provides support for aspect-oriented programming. Basically, with this framework, developers can modularize their applications easily. For instance, they can modularize the concerns like transaction management, logging, security, etc.
  3. Data Access/Integration. This module provides support for database operations, transaction management, and other data access-related tasks.
  4. Web module. Likewise, this module enables building web applications using the Spring Framework, including features like Spring MVC, WebSocket, and RESTful web services.
  5. Testing module. Its testing framework includes support for unit testing, integration testing, and automated testing.
  6. Security module. This module provides authentication, authorization, and cryptography to secure enterprise applications.
  7. Messaging module. Similarly, this module provides support for messaging systems, including integration with popular messaging systems like Apache Kafka and RabbitMQ.
  8. Batch module. This module provides support for batch processing of large amounts of data.

So, we can use these modules together or individually, depending on the requirements of the application being developed.

Further Reading

Spring Framework Practice Problems and Their Solutions

Java Practice Exercise